Lost in the Jungle by Yossi Ghinsberg

Posted: September 5, 2010 in Book Notes
Tags: , , , ,
  • If I’ve learned nothing else from the following story, I’ve learned that the gift of life is not to be taken for granted. Nothing is mundane; it is all a miracle.

When a student is ready, the teacher will appear.

  • You travel to breathtaking places – the kinds of places tourists dream of seeing – but you are not a tourist. You’re a mochilero, a drifter, and there’s a big difference…You make your own plans, every day full of surprises.
  • Every nomad knows the feeling: longing for every place he must leave mingled with anticipation of a new destination, always certain that the next place will be even better, even lovelier.
  • A man of action does whatever he must, isn’t afraid, and doesn’t worry.
  • …suddenly I was back in the jungle, where one discovers the darkness in one’s heart.
  • …I clearly discern that I am standing on a living planet…I realize just by looking up to the sky that I am part of something infinite, and I feel infinitely grateful for life.
  • …sometimes the extraordinary can be seen by the naked eye, allowing a quick glimpse into the miraculous.
  • Overwhelmed and puzzled, the mind rushes in like a fool, desperately trying to make sense of it all. But how can we understand what cannot be grasped by the senses?
  • And when we cannot fully understand the significance of something, when we cannot validate the total experience with the senses – can’t see, can’t taste, can’t smell, can’t touch, can’t hear, and cannot conceive – we are left with a choice: to deny or to believe.
    • I do not deny and I do not believe; I simply know miracles to be part of the world I live in.
  • If you are just a dreamer without being a fool, you will never leave home and risk losing everything you own – your assets, your ideals, your image. And what if it is all in vain and there is nothing to find? Only the fool can take such risk. I was that fool, for the dream was bigger than everything I risked. And I’ve lost it all time and again, and through those experiences, I have found what I truly own, for all that can be taken from me is not mine to begin with.
  • Fear will show you the way; walk steadily toward it…Have trust and faith to guide you like a torch piercing darkness. Do not believe and do not deny, but find out for yourself – for there is no truth but the one you have earned in your own experience.
Leave a Reply

