Someone Untied Your Camel by Hafiz

Posted: April 30, 2010 in Poetry

I cannot sit still with my countrymen in chains.

I cannot act mute

Hearing the world’s loneliness

Crying near the Beloved’s heart.

 

My love for God is such

That I could dance with Him tonight without you,

But I would rather have you there.

 

Is your caravan lost?

 

It is,

If you no longer weep from gratitude or happiness,

Or weep

From being cut deep with the awareness

Of the extraordinary beauty

That emanates from the most simple act

And common object.

 

My dear, is your caravan lost?

 

It is if you can no longer be kind to yourself

And loving to those who must live

With the sometimes difficult task of loving you.

 

At least come to know

That someone untied your camel last night

For I hear its gentle voice

Calling for God in the desert.

 

At least come to know

That Hafiz will always hold a lantern

With the galaxies blooming inside

And that

 

I will always guide your soul to

The divine warmth and exhilaration

Of our Beloved’s

Tent.

Leave a comment